Tigers gearing up to defending!

2010 Tournament Champions!
Sep. 27, 2010


Molson University Old Stars Hockey Challenge


For the first time in tournament history, the Molson Cup championship was determined by a 'sudden victory' shoot out. Jason Troini, tournament leading scorer, beat SMU goaltender Mike Weatherbie with a perfect shot off the inside of the post to make Dalhousie Tigers the only 3 time tournament champions. Previously, the Tigers had been victorious in 2004 and 2006. SMU had the first shot in the post-game theatrics but Chris Kelly was unable to beat Dal goalie Pat Berrigan setting the stage for Troini's dramatic and exciting finishing goal.

Dal got to the championship game by knocking off the surprising CBU Capers 4-0  in one semi-final game while the Huskies bested the defending champion UPEI Panthers 3-2 in the other game, needing a shoot-out goal by Chris Kelly to advance.

Tournament MVP, for the 3rd time was Dal's Pat Berrigan.

Established in 2003, the Molson University Old Star Hockey Challenge is the largest and most successful alumni hockey tournament in Canada.

Canadian hockey fans who know their University hockey agree....the AUS (Atlantic University Sport) is home to the BEST university hockey conference in the country, annually producing a galaxy of elite players. Profiling former AUS stars (many with recent pro experience), the MOLSON OLD STAR tournament features 10 teams and 18 games over a two day period. The lineup includes all the current 8 AUS varsity hockey programs along with Mount Allison and Cape Breton University, two schools that were members of the AUAA until the mid-90s.

By far, the highlight of the weekend is the camaraderie and fellowship that is fostered by the 10 hockey reunions, all being staged at the same time!